Sound with LOGI-Bone

Hi All -

I'm pretty new to all of this (BeagleBone, LOGI-Bone, FPGA, etc.) but want to learn. 

I have a working setup of a 32x32 LED matrix based on the Ubuntu 13.04 distro and the code, etc... I found here. 

Now I would like to add the ability to utilize sound to this setup. An initial idea I have is to sample incoming sound and make the display react to it, perhaps perform a FFT and make the display behave like one of those liner equalizer displays. 

I spent a couple of hours trying to get a C-Media based USB sound card to work with Alsa, but have had no success. Got stuck with arecord not being able to set install the hw params of the sound card...

Can someone suggest either an Arduino shield or a BBB cape that will work with this setup? I believe it shouldn't interfere with the signals used by the LOGI-Bone and be recognizable by the BBB, but am not yet well versed in this stuff.

Thanks in advance.
John

Comments

• edited June 2016
    Hi There,

I can't suggest a specific shield, but can suggest that you find one that interfaces via spi or i2c as these will not conflict while using the FPGA/BBB.  There should be a number of shields that have such as interface.  In the worst case you could roll your own via breadboard and then jumper the SPI/ADC to the FPGA or BBB.  Hope this helps.

Also, there should be some sound/audio pmods available as well.  
  • Thanks very much for your response. I'll look at the SPI or i2c solutions, as I'd like to learn about those interfaces.