KiwiSDR antenna switch extension [and BeagleBone Black/Green GPIOs]

edited March 21 in KiwiSDR Discussion
I have been working with KiwiSDR antenna switch extension. You can now choose different backends. Currently available backends are MS-S7-WEB controller and Beaglebone GPIO's. You can also write your own backend for controlling your own antenna switch box. If you are already running older version of KiwiSDR antenna switch extension, please uninstall it before installing a new version.

New version is available now on Github: https://github.com/OH1KK/KiwiSDR-antenna-switch-extension

G8JNJg1tvl

Comments

• Hi All,

Kari has performed some excellent work with his new extension.

I've had the GPIO switching configured on my KiWi for the past week and it's working really well.

Thanks again Kari :-)

Regards,

Martin - G8JNJ
  • HI All , as I am quite new in the Linux world, where can I read more about the GPIO switching board ?
    Phil IC8POF

• Hi Phil,

There isn't a switching board as such.

The software toggles some of the spare GPIO (70 -76) pins of the P8 connector on the Beagle. 

When the switch software is used and an antenna is selected the appropriate GPIO pin goes from 0v to 3.3v.

This can then be interfaced via a suitable value of resistor (typically 10K) to an NPN transistor driver that is in turn used to operate an external switching relay.

Details of the software patch and WEB operated switch can be found here https://github.com/OH1KK/KiwiSDR-antenna-switch-extension

Regards,

Martin - G8JNJ

Beagle GPIO.png
    1366 x 1025 - 193K
  • Kari, many thanks for this great piece of work!!

I have a couple of Teledyne relays on my kiwi, driven from the GPIOs. One selects an inline attenuator, the other switches between 2 antennas (or one antenna and a dummy load at the moment). I had control from ssh, but I never got around to fiddling with the software end.

Dave G1TVL